Thursday, November 5, 2009

Businesswomen of the Future's Design For Success

Businesswomen of the future are showcasing their talents with a key role in Train 2000’s prestigious 2009 Celebration of Success awards.
Ten Merseyside businesswomen will be rewarded for their achievements by the Liverpool based women’s enterprise agency at its first annual awards on Wednesday November 18th, at Aintree Racecourse.
And behind the scenes a team of Year 10 students from Archbishop Blanch School have been working on projects to design the awards, certificates and programmes as well as training to film the event for future Podcasts.
Students Ashleigh Thurston, 14, and Georgina Meade, 14, said the project has provided a fascinating insight into how the business world operates.
Ashleigh said: “My mum is setting up her own business as a wedding photographer and this has inspired me to think about setting up my own business in the future.
Georgina added:“I wanted wanted to get involved in the Train 2000 work as it is a good experience. The Women in Business Awards appeals to me because one day I would like to run my own business.'
Teacher Linda Deaves added:
“Encouraging the students to be creative and innovative and to adopt a 'can do' attitude to life is what enterprise is all about. We hope that students grasp these opportunities to work with outside organisations such as Train 2000 in order to inspire and motivate them to develop skills that they will need in the working world. “
Lynne Evans of Train 2000 said:
“These students are businesswomen of the future. I have been amazed by the range of skills they are able to offer at such a young age and hope the experience will encourage them to be business leaders and role models of the future.”
Train 2000’s Celebration of Success Awards will take place at Aintree Racecourse on Women’s Enterprise Day (Nov 18th) and is hosted by Su Grainger of The SoSo Club (Singing Our Socks Off). The categories will include Business of the Year, International Business and Innovation and Technology Awards.